Goodbye Yellow Brick Road

The title of this blog is “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road,” (with a slight typo in the link, but I’m just not original, ok?).   My blog is technically named after a cover by Sara Bareilles, but ironically enough is originally by Elton John, who is from London.  (Funny coincidences people.)  Anyway, the song is essentially about changing one’s path, which is what was going on in my life when I started posting on here, so it works.

So first things first, I am going to dictate this in the narrative of “one of those girls who studies abroad.” There’s a reason why you become ‘one of those people who studies abroad’; we come home and it is extremely hard to adapt back into this culture.   We’ve just been out of the game for a while and we’ll get there, however, I do think it comes off to people that we have become a cult of semi-well traveled 20 year olds, who are well and #cultured.  We gravitate towards people who are going through what we’re going through. They call it Post-Abroad Depression because yes, it is a thing.

Let me explain the symptoms to you.  It’s simple really, there is one: a lack of inspiration/feeling inspired.  There’s a reason people who come home from living in another country for four months get so hype about it, you’re literally on a vacation for 4 months that is glorified by the term “Study Abroad.”

I was spending every weekend in another country.  I was seeing so many different things, hearing so many different languages, eating so much amazing food.  I was being exposed to so many beautiful cities and places that have so much more history than this country does itself.  It doesn’t make it any less wonderful in ‘the states,’ (well in a lot of ways it does, but that’s a story for a different day), but it’s just so different.

So quite literally my life went from 100-0, real quick.  I just didn’t have any responsibility in London, not even really to any other people. And my teachers at St. Mary’s were amazing and were so chill about the work and my traveling, so I really was SOL when it came time to being thrown right back into things academically and socially.

That’s not to say I’m not having so much fun being back at school.  I think I am finally feeling back in the swing of things in DC, which is probably why I’m finally posting now.

By the way, I told you that my wish on the Trevi Fountain came true when I got home safely.  I also mentioned in my last post that I made a second part of that wish as well, that I would get an internship…and I did for this semester and it’s amazing.  So Swag Swag, apparently it really is a magic fountain.  Next time my wish will be way more ambitious, let me tell ya.  Or perhaps it’s just fate… 😉

So now that I finally feel like I have a handle on my life, I am just looking for the next thing that is going to inspire me.   I don’t have to be flying through the Swiss Alps (but you know there’s nothing else I would rather be doing), I just want to be inspired by this wonderful world that we live in.  The thing that it’s taken me this long to figure out was, I had the time to be inspired last semester.  It’s not like that in real life because life simply gets in the way, and I’m not on vacation anymore.

A friend asked me the other day if I was done “blogging” since I was done traveling.  I said I didn’t wanna write just anything, there had to be something to write about or people wouldn’t read it.  I feel that I set a standard for myself, and I don’t want to post anything less than that standard.

I love to read and the reason I love to read is because I like to find inside of books beautiful strings of words.  What I mean by that is statements that truly convey certain feelings or moments in life that could not be explained more perfectly, they just make sense.  I think that when I was traveling, because I was doing and seeing such incredible things, it was instilling in me the ability to string together beautiful words in my posts.  I read for those beautiful strings, so when I write, I want people to receive them in my words.  Those will only come with inspiration.

So what next then, what does that mean for me, for this blog, what is the point of this post?  I think just to let anyone who reads this blog know, that my next adventure is the search for the next thing that is going to inspire me.  I am going to open my eyes a little wider, feel a little deeper, and dream a little bigger everyday, or at least I am going to try.

When I checked off every place on my European Bucket List, I realized the sky was the limit.  I just have to implement that into what I do day in and day out.  I think I already try to do so, but the stress of papers and tests and a job is a lot more stressful than planning your next weekend getaway and making it to your flight on time without forgetting your passport. So I’ll get there, I just ask that in the mean time you bear with me.

The skinny on my life in 100 words is that it is time for midterm’s and I have 4 tests and an interview standing in between me and spring break on Friday.  Then I will have a whole week at home with me doge 🙂 In which time my sole focus will be to finally finish my abroad video so for that I ask you stay tuned and for old times sake…Cheers

Leave a Reply

